Susan Metros


Susan E. Metros offers over twenty years of experience in higher education as an information and educational technology executive and over thirty years of experience as an academic leader, a professor and scholar. She currently serves as an information technology and academic innovation consultant, career mentor and a certified International Coach Federation (ICF) professional coach.

Susan has held CIO positions at The Ohio State University and University of Southern California’s Marshall School of Business. She has served as the University of Tennessee’s Assistant Vice President for Educational Technology, OSU’s Deputy Chief Information Officer for eLearning and USC’s Associate Vice Provost for Technology Enhanced Learning. She was appointed as Associate Dean for USC’s Jimmy Iovine and Andre Young Academy for Arts, Technology and the Business of Innovation and helped design the undergraduate program and conceive the new online Master of Science in Integrated Design, Business and Technology.

Susan was elected and held executive roles on the New Media Consortium and EDUCAUSE Board of Directors. She sits on numerous boards and advisory committees including Colorado State University’s Global Campus Board of Directors and the Education Design Lab's Advisory Council. Her portfolio included university-wide oversight for educational technologies, online learning, learning environments, web services and research computing. As an independent consultant, she is committed to helping educational institutions, non-profit organizations and ed tech companies with strategic planning and initiating new or assessing existing online programs and educational technology processes, products and services. In her coaching and mentoring role, Susan helps individuals and teams identify, meet and exceed their professional and personal goals.

Susan publishes and presents on leadership and mentoring, creativity and innovation, visual and multimedia literacy, and the role of educational technology in transforming higher education to be multi-modal, interactive and learner-centered. She earned her BFA in Fine Arts and her MFA in Graphic Design from Michigan State University.

Susan is the proud recipient of the 2017 EDCAUSE Leadership Award.

EDUCAUSE Publications

  • iPASS: Lessons From the Field
    • Briefs, Case Studies, Papers, Reports

    This report distills guidance from iPASS grantees on how to move forward with a transformative technology-based planning and advising project, with a specific focus on advising transformation, faculty engagement and predictive analytics.

  • 2017 EDUCAUSE Awards
    • Article

    The EDUCAUSE Awards Program, under the guidance of the EDUCAUSE Recognition Committee, brings peer endorsement and distinction to professional accomplishments in higher education information technology.

EDUCAUSE Presentations