Trenda Boyum-Breen


Dr. Trenda Boyum-Breen is the President of Rasmussen College and received her doctorate of education from the University of Minnesota specializing in Higher Education Policy and Administration. Prior to Rasmussen College she was Vice President of Enrollment Management & Student Affairs for Metropolitan State University in the Twin Cities, and has served in positions at several institutions in Texas and Minnesota, including San Antonio College, University of the Incarnate Word, Minneapolis Community and Technical College and Capella University.

Under her leadership, Rasmussen College has entered the world of Competency-Based Education with successful application and participation in the United States Department of Education’s Experimental Sites Initiative on Limited Direct Assessment, the Competency-Based Education Network, and Educause’s Breakthrough Models Incubator. Dr. Boyum-Breen has also led initiatives to redesign programmatic curriculum to ensure experiential learning opportunities in every academic program, which included promoting the development of game-based learning, simulation and other technology-driven experiential opportunities as well as internships, volunteer opportunities and class-based case studies.  Dr. Boyum-Breen’s commitment to serving adult students is evident in her leadership to better understand and progressively serve students with developmental education needs and those historically underserved in higher education.

Dr. Boyum-Breen sits on the board of the Jeremiah Program–Minneapolis/St. Paul, a leading nonprofit organization proven to help single mothers and their children break the cycle of generational poverty two generations at a time. She is also on the board of the American Council on Education Women’s Network of Minnesota and was honored as a recipient of the organization’s Sustainability Award, which recognizes someone who has significantly contributed to the overall growth and development of women leaders in higher education. Trenda also acts as a member of the Women President’s Organization, and the LGBT Higher Education President’s Organization.  

EDUCAUSE Publications